My Top Ten Reading Goals of 2018

Reading Goals of 2018

  1. Read a thriller
    I’m not sure if I have ever read a thriller, but I want to as part of stepping outside my comfort zone.
  2. Read a book of poetry
    It has been a while and my English class, last semester reminded me that I enjoy poetry.
  3. Read a book by Brene Brown
    Her books have been recommended to me so often, that it’s time.
  4. Re-read Harry Potter
  5. Reduce my physical TBR to 60 or less.
    Right now I’m sitting at about 90, My plan is to read and otherwise unhaul enough books to meet that goal this year. Keep an eye out for ‘Try A Chapter’ posts throughout the year! My plan is to try 4, and choose 1 to read, 1 to keep and 2 to unhaul.
  6. Read The Name of the Wind (finally!)
    Because this is the third year I’ve set this goal – third times the charm right?
  7. Read 12 finales
    There are 12 series I am reading that I only need to read the last book to complete, so really I have no excuse!
  8. Read the final 4 books I bought in 2015
    These are the last 4 books I have a record of buying in 2015 and are still unread.
  9. Participate in at least 3 Read-a-thons
    I participated in zero last year.
  10. Read 100 Books
    Pretty self-explanatory. I want to spend less time on social media and TV and more time reading.

What are some of your goals this year?

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl. For more details, and to participate, click the link above.

 

28 thoughts on “My Top Ten Reading Goals of 2018

  1. Reading more books from my shelf TBR is something I’d like to accomplish. Right now, the TBR is review-book focused, but if I could get some of the books on my shelf read, that’d go a looong way in making me feel like I’m accomplishing some great reader-ly things. 🙂

    Good luck with your goals – and happy 2018!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same here, seems like January and February are all review books for me. Not that I am complaining. I want to focus the rest of the year on the books Ive bought. Thank you for reading and happy 2018 to you as well!

      Like

  2. I love your goals, especially the one to ‘read a thriller’. I’m all about the thrillers, the mystery books, the crime novels. If you’d like any suggestions, let me know. Ha! And good luck with your goals in general. Rereading HP books is a great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I, too, want to re-read Harry Potter. (Honestly, though, I’ve only made it to Order of the Phoenix! Eek!) I plan to start reading them to my son as a sort of nightly bedtime story ritual as soon as he’s old enough. Might not be this year, but we’ll see! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have so many thoughts!!

    1. YES! I totally got into thrillers last year, and am happy to suggest one for you ☺️
    2. See above ☺️
    3. Omigosh, Me TOO! I’ve heard that her books are good on audio?
    4. I reread the whole series in 2016 and it was AWESOME 😎
    5. You’re inspiring! I’m hoping for 75 by the end of the year, but we’ll see. I love your idea with the four books — and would definitely help to cut down numbers. I did a try a Chapter thing last year and Unhauled one of the books, but it wasn’t intentional. I just started reading and thought, nope, this isn’t for me.
    6. YES!
    7. YES YES!
    8. I wish I knew which books I purchased when, but I definitely need to focus on the books that have been on my shelves for years and years.
    9. Me too!
    10. I believe in youuuuuu!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 1&2. Yes I would love your suggestions!
      3. I think they would be since I enjoy her TEDtalks. But of course I can’t get the book you’re suppose to start with on Overdrive. 😛
      4. I don’t think I will get to the whole series, unless I like the audiobooks.
      5. I know you can do it! You’re reading so much this year already!
      6. When are we reading that again? LOL
      8. There might be others, I only know because I looked back at Bookoutlet and Indigo orders from 2015
      9. So far I haven’t found any I want to do, you?
      10. Thank you!! I need to read 8-9 books a month so I’m almost on track.

      Like

  5. Sounds like you have some great reading goals for 2018! I have signed up for a few challenges and am trying to reduce my backlist, as well. I also have 50 books sitting on my NetGalley shelf that need to be read and reviewed. That’s getting a bit high lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment