Mirage by Somaiya Daud – Blog Tour

Rating:  ★★★★
Publication Date
: August 28th 2018
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Source: ARC from Raincoast Books
Link to the author: http://www.somaiyabooks.com/

Goodreads
Amazon

Review

Mirage was a very unexpected experience; as beautiful as it was brutal. The story begins in Amanis village – I wish we had more time to get to know her in that setting but I did appreciate how fast paced the action was. The setting was unusual but enjoyable and I liked that there was futuristic tech but I did find a lot of the names and terms of the cultures to be confusing. The world building could have been a little more thorough. Amani is quickly taken to act as a body double for the Vathek Princess Maram. Maram is a vicious girl that you despise right away and yet I came to like her by the end of the book. Her story was perhaps the most complex and intriguing. Amani goes through a horrible ordeal as she acclimatizes to life in the palace where she is forcibly molded into a copy of the princess.. She is very compliant because she fears if she doesn’t cooperate her family will suffer. She wasnt written as homesick as I think she would have been though. Amani does a brilliant job of immitating Maram at social engagements but it doesn’t fool Idris, Marams fiance. I really liked Idris because he didn’t follow any of the male stereotypes in YA. He was quite vulnerable and even though you think their relationship is surely doomed you really want it to end otherwise.

Mirage had a lot of unexpected surprises that kept me on my toes and I enjoyed the story over all. I have high hopes that the sequel will be even better and think Somaiya Daud is an author to watch. 


Thank you for reading my review of Mirage by Somaiya Daud, I  hope you enjoyed my insights and look forward to more reviews from me in the future.

 

2 thoughts on “Mirage by Somaiya Daud – Blog Tour

  1. I just recently got an ARC of this book and I’m really excited to get to it! It’s one of my most anticipated releases of the year so fingers crossed it’s really good 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment