October Wrap Up

Wow October has come and gone, that was fast! I hope you all had a safe and happy Halloween, I saw so many amazing costumes this year! I don’t feel like I read much this month because two were re-reads but I don’t care because I enjoyed them all so much, although I am sad to see this series come to an end.

Re-Reads this month:
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo
Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

New Reads this month:
Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

14061957Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
The books I went back and re-read were ‘Shadow and Bone’ and ‘Siege and Storm’ by Leigh Bardugo, in preparation for her third book ‘Ruin and Rising’. I wanted all the details to be fresh in my mind, in order to fully appreciate the whole trilogy. I’m so glad that I did! I have loved this world and the characters since the first book, and I’ve never been disappointed. The ending was a bit of a surprise, I didn’t think that it would be as happily ever after as it was. My only disappointment was with Nikolai’s character. I grew to love Nikolai, like really, he still needs a queen and I’m single. Ha-ha. I adore his sarcasm and sense of humor; I thought Alina might end up with him. But in the end I felt like his story was left hanging. I needed more closure. He was such a prominent character but we are told very little of what happened to him after the final scenes. I did enjoy that the third amplifier restored balance, taking power from the Darkling and Alina and sort of giving it back to the people. I gave these books 5 stars and the trilogy holds a special place on my bookshelf.

What was the last series you finished? Let me know it in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

