Top Ten Tuesdays: The Best of 2015

ttt3

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week there is a new topic, if you would like to participate you can head over to her blog for the details and a list of topics.

Guys, this one was hard, picking the best books of any category is hard for me. I just love all the books. Without over thinking it I just listed the first ten that came to mind, otherwise it would be 2016 before I decided.

 

  1. Forging The Sword by Hilari Bell
    I love a story about a rebellion and this one didn’t end the way most do, but I wont spoil that for you because I highly recommend this series.
  2. Shutdown by Heather Anastasiu
    Again a rebellion story! I think you will notice a pattern here haha. I loved this series, I felt that I hadn’t read anything like it and the love story takes quite am unusual twist. If you like Xmen and Dystopian novels I say go read this series!
  3. Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
    I dont think I need to say much here. I love the Grisha trilogy. I love Nikolai/Sturmhond. I had a lot of feels with this book and I’m a little sad that Alina’s story is over, BUT – SIX OF CROWS!!
  4. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
    I can’t even. There are no words. I love it. Its amazing. If you havent read it DO IT.
  5. Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
    I should have seen the book hanger coming but I was so excited about this book I dove in and didn’t prepare myself. I LOVE this book, possibly more than the Grisha series? No that’s crazy but my love is definitely equal. MVP but I loved it. Heists? YES Amazing characters? YES Magic? YES If Leigh had thrown in a dragon I may never have recovered from this awesomeness. GIVE ME THE NEXT BOOK! Please?
  6. Golden Son by Pierce Brown
    If you are tired of the same old, same old Dystopian and you think you’ve read them all, I’m telling you that you are mistaken. Go pick up Red Rising and be prepared for what a real Dystopia looks like. Its gritty and dirty and real, so so real. Rebellions aren’t pretty and yet I was often very moved by this book. Plus Pierce Brown is possibly the sexiest author, like ever.
  7. Secret Daughter by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
    On a whole different note, like a world away from most of the books I read is this book. This book is beautiful and FULL of feels. I truly loved every moment of this enchanting story. I don’t often read books like these but I do enjoy them when it richly immerses me in a different culture from my own. If you are looking to change things up read this book.
  8. The Young Elites by Marie Lu
    My first Marie Lu and I wasnt totally sold until the end. Now I NEED The Rose Society, I already love Maeve, lets call it love at first read. I can tell she is going to be so kick ass!
  9. The Queen Of The Tearling by Erika Johansen
    Speaking of kick ass… if you are looking for a book with a strong female main character, who is smart, strong-willed and loves books then here it is! The romance is very minimal, there is a lot of world building, background and set-up for the next in the series and I ATE IT UP! I am itching to see what Queen Kelsea does next! Be warned younger readers there is some use of profanity.
  10. Heir Of Fire by Sarah J Maas
    Absolutely not last, these books have been in no specific order. These books are amazing, plus all the hot guys! Lol, sorry. I know Queen Of Shadows has been out forever and why havent I read it…. I was waiting for paperback but I caved and called my library to see if they have it. They didnt but said they would purchase it and let me know when they have it! So I will be dropping everything once I get it to continue this amazing series. I love sassy heroines and some people find her whiny but I think she’s realistic and I love her and cant wait to see where the story goes next.

What were your favourites of 2015, and why?
Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

