Review: Rat Queens Volume One: Sass and Sorcery by Kurtis Wiebe

Rat Queens Volume One: Sass and Sorcery by Kurtis Wiebe

Publisher: Image Comics
Publication Date: April 8 2014
Genre: Graphic Novel – Fantasy
Source: Purchased copy from Indigo
Link to the author: http://kurtiswiebe.com/

Click here for the Goodreads Summary

Rating:
4 Drunken Battle Maidens Out Of 5 20299683

Buzz Words:
booze buzzling, battle maidens, elven magic, hippy hobbit, Buffy meets Lord of the Rings

Favourite Quote:
There were so many
“Yes I will tell father I’m in a serious relationship with a half-orc and we’re ring shopping” HANNAH
“We can sit around and bitch or we can make some monsters bleed” VIOLET

My thoughts:
This was my very first graphic novel, as such I wasn’t sure what to expect. It was so much fun! Four feisty women who like to have a good time and slay monsters. There wasn’t a lot of information at the start, you felt ‘dropped’ into the story, is it like that with all graphic novels? There was some back story for each character later and that left me more invested. Graphic novels sure can be more liberal with the language and content, but I enjoyed that. Where as in other books strange and diverse topics might be avoided, Rat Queens crammed in all the weird, wacky, and unusual without hesitation. We have Violet, a dwarf who left her kind, shaved her beard, wields a big ass sword and beds orcs. Dee, a cleric with amazing hair, reads while the others party and whos parents worship a big squid. Betty, a hobbit who loves candy drugs and orgasms. And lastly Hannah, a kick-ass elven mage, who has a thing for the town peace keeper. My favourite character was Violet, the hipter dwarf, but honesty I loved them all! The story is interesting so far, but it felt like a TV show episode, sort of wrapped up at the end but with an on-going story line as well. Which is probably how graphic novels are supposed to be, but seeing as this is my first it simply isn’t something I’m used to. I did like all the action and LOVED the sarcasm and SO MUCH SASS.

What I liked:
The Illustrations are absolutely beautiful and the characters are diverse, with great back stories and personality by the bucket full.

What I disliked:
I enjoyed the story and yet I’m not dying for the second one? It didn’t leaving me needing to know what happened next.

Would Recommend To:
Fans of the assassin Celaena Sardothien, a deadly woman who knows how to have a good time.

Leave a Reply

