Stacking the Shelves

sts

Stacking the shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga at Tynga’s Reviews It’s all about sharing the books you recently added to your shelves, because as book lovers we get pretty excited about new books!

At the beginning of 2016 I decided to go on a book buying ban and only read books I own or I could borrow from the library. I did resolve to allow myself one book purchase a month so I wouldn’t go crazy and buy ALL the books in a fit of rebellion. So, I guess the question is, how did I do?

 20983362 (1)

Books I bought
Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

 15863832

Ebooks I bought
Angelfall by Susan Ee
World After by Susan Ee
End of Days by Susan Ee

 213647

Books I bought Second Hand
The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima
Secret Daughter by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

… What? Thats more than one? Alright, so I’m not much good at book buying bans. However, I would like to defend myself. I started the ban so that I wouldn’t spend as much money and mostly because I need to read the books I already own. The only expensive (but totally worth it) book was Passenger. The Queen of the Tearling was only $7.00 and I needed to add it to my cart for free shipping. The ebooks were 1.99 – 2.99 and the two books I bought second-hand were fifty cents each! I simply cannot turn down a fifty cent book. PLUS I have already read The Queen of the Tearling and Secret Daughter, which means I wasn’t adding to my TBR pile in buying them. So I think I sort of stuck to my buying ban alright. I will try harder next month, but really 7 books for a total of $31.00 isn’t bad and much better than previous months. Perhaps instead of a number of books I should give myself a book allowance of a certain amount of money. Then I can choose, one new hard cover, a couple older paperbacks or a few used books. Have you ever been on a book buying ban? How did it go?

4 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves

Leave a Reply

