Review: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication Date: January 5th 2016
Genre: YA Fantasy
Source: Pre-ordered copy from Indigo
Link to the author: http://susandennard.com/

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary

Rating:
4.5 Seafoxs Out Of 521414439

Buzz Words:
Pirates, Magic, Steamy Romance, Struggle Between Empires, Friendship

Favourite Quotes:
“It wasn’t freedom she wanted. It was a belief in something – a prize big enough to run for and to fight for and to keep on reaching toward no matter what. She had a prize now. She ran for Nubrevna. She ran for Merik. She ran for Iseult. She ran for Kullen and Ryber and Mathew and Habim. and above all, she ran forherself.” Safiya, Page 394

My thoughts:
I didnt realize how much I needed this story, so firstly I want to say thank you Susan Dennard. Other stories have friendships in them, but often the girls are rivals and the main character faces the danger alone. It is so refreshing to read about a strong female friendship, and on top of that there is also an amazing male friendship in this story! I’m telling you this book HAS IT ALL.
Safiya is a confident and sassy domna and truthwitch, a witch that can tell when things are true or false. Isuelt is a threadwitch, who can see the ties that bind people together, all she wants in life is freedom. Iseult is the calm to Safiya’s storm. Merrik is the prince of Nubrevna, he is trying to save his people and isn’t interested in the troubles of a domna. Fate however, has other plans.
This story is full of laughter inducing banter between Dennard’s characters. I really love a story that can make me laugh. All of the characters are driven by different motives and I enjoyed watching them intertwine and cross each other. The magic system is complex, solid and fascinating. It is also still some what of a mystery to the reader as well as to the characters, and I love that! There is so much possibility in the future books for me to speculate about. I hate a predictable book and I never knew what was coming in Truthwitch. And the seafoxs! I can’t remember the last time I read a fantasy with a completely new-to-me fantasy creature. That is always a win in my book. Susan Dennard is truly a fresh creative mind. The adventure and the fight scenes were so descriptive and gripping. Oh and the romance! Wow! The dance between Merik and Safiya? That was one hell of a steamy scene, and thats when I became reallyenchanted by the writing. The chemistry felt so real, so palpable. I swear my heart rated kicked up a few notches just reading it. The tension between the two throughout the book was on point in my opinion, it always seemed very in character for both of them. I often feel in other YA that the main character is this strong independent woman who becomes someone else entirely around her love interest, but not this time! Also, my standard for romantic meet cute is now absurdly high. As for Iselt’s love life, please tell me her and Aeduan are an item later on? Speaking of Aeduan, I know he is the ‘bad guy’ but I think he is my favourite character. He was so interesting and internally conflicted at the end. I really feel he will be developed much more in the next book and we will get to see that there is much more to this bloodwitch. I really cannot wait for the next book, it is on the top of my 2017 anticipation list already. This story was expertly weaved and I highly recommend it, I’m only sorry I hadn’t read Susan Dennard’s work sooner.

What I liked:
The map and the cover and GORGEOUS
The colorful language in this book is so good! Page has a particularly favourite curse of mine, ‘Goat tits!’ I love when an author is creative not just with the world building, the characters names but with something humorous too.

What I disliked:
The beginning was the only part of the story that was rocky for me. It felt hard to get into for the first hundred pages or so, until the dance scene. There were a lot of names, terms, titles, at the start and I felt a little lost and backward at first.

Would Recommend To:
Anyone who enjoys YA Fantasy, particularly girls, because I think they need healthy examples of true friendship. Everyone needs reminding of the strength and importance of friendship.

2 thoughts on “Review: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Leave a Reply

