Top Ten Tuesday: Books Outside My Comfort Zone

ttt3

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week there is a new bookish topic. For more details, and to participate, click the link above.

 

Books Outside My COMFORT ZONE

I was really excited for this topic because reading outside my comfort zone is a goal of mine this year! However, as we are only two months into the year I haven’t read a lot of books yet. So, the first five books are outside my comfort zone that I have already read and the last five are ones I have yet to read this year.

Read

  • Rat Queens by Kurtis Wiebe (4 Stars)
    I had never read a graphic novel before so this was definitely out side of my comfort zone but I’m so glad I tried it.
  • Matilda by Roald Dahl (3 Stars)6327266
    I rarely EVER read the book after I have seen the movie, I know whats going to happen and I have a hard time becoming invested in the story.
  • Anne of Green Gables by L M Montgomery
    (5 Stars)
    I read predominantly YA fantasy so Anne of Green Gables has never been on my radar. For one of my reading challenges this year I had to read a children classic and for some reason this book popped into my head.And I LOVED it!
  • Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon
    (4 Stars)
    I don’t read contemporary as a rule but thankfully this was recommended to me by some wonderful people and I didn’t let this one pass me by.
  • The Seventh Bride by T Kingfisher (3  Stars)
    Retellings. What can I say? I so rarely enjoy them and this one was very strange, I hope the other retellings on my list I enjoy more than this one.

To-Read

  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
    Here is another contemporary that I have heard nothing but praise for and after one pleasant experience with contemporary this year, I’m ready for another!
  • Angelfall by Susan Ee15863832
    If I read a summary and it has anything to do with angels I won’t read the book. However, this was recommended to my by my friend Jen and she has amazing taste in books so I have high hopes for this series!
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
    This falls into the category of a classic under 200 pages for one of my reading challenges. I have heard mixed things about the book and I tend to avoid classics. Why? I’m not really sure. I think I’m worried I won’t like them and feel like I should because they are classic?
  • The Search for Wondla by Toni DiTerlizzi
    Not for any particular reason but I don’t read any middle grade. This book though was praised by Regan on Booktube so I have to give it a try. You should also check out her channel she’s lovely.
  • We Were Liars by E Lockhart
    Not only is this contemporary but it is written in prose. Two things I tend to avoid. So here’s to trying things doubly outside out comfort zone!

Okay, now I want to hear from you guys! What kinds of genres/topics/covers do you tend to avoid? What is outside your comfort zone? And if you read them anyway, were you glad you did? I want to know!

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books Outside My Comfort Zone

  1. Oh gosh! I really hope Angel Falls doesn’t disappoint you!

    Outside my comfort zone is stories relating to some kind of tragedy. I have not read The Fault in Our Stars even though I love John Green. I don’t think I could handle it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was one of those rare people who actually didn’t enjoy Fangirl. I found that it started off nice, ended off nicely, and then in the middle it sort of lost its direction and just floated around a bit, making it a good deal longer than it should have been. Hope you enjoy it though!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I tend to stay away from non-fiction and anything heavily/overtly religious. Other than that, I’ll try most anything at least once.

    Have you ever tried the Spiderwick Chronicles? If you’re up for WondLa, you might like Spiderwick as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just looked it up on Goodreads because I felt like it was one I tried and didn’t like. However, it must be another book that only reminded me of that title. I will have to give it a try also if I enjoy The Search for Wondla

      Like

Leave a Reply

