Review: The Abyss Surround Us by Emily Skrutskie

The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie

Publisher: Flux
Publication Date: February 8th 2016
Genre: YA Fantasy, Science Fiction
Source: Pre-ordered copy from Book Depository
Link to the authorhttp://skrutskie.com/

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary

Rating: 5 Reckoners out of 5

Cover Rating: 3 Thumbs Up24790901.jpg
I loved the Reckoner and the font but disliked the girl

Buzz Words:
Sea Monsters, Pirate Queen, Pirates, Genetically-Engineered

Favourite Quote:
“I don’t just raise monsters, I am one” – Cas

My thoughts:

This was one of my most anticipated reads of 2016 and I am so glad I pre-ordered it. I loved this book from beginning to end; at which point I had to ask the author immediately if there was going to be a second book. So yes, it does have an epic ending, but also yes there is a second book in the works! I read this one FAST, I didn’t want to put it down, it was such a fresh idea and there was action on every page. I really don’t know how to describe this book, it is set in the future but it is kind of like the wild west but with ships and sea monsters. The main character Cas was likeable and she grew a lot throughout the story. She faced a LOT of inner and outer conflict and often had to ask herself if her actions were right or wrong. I really enjoy when characters are forced to step outside their comfort zone and explore that grey area. I really applaud the author for the research she must have done. This story had just the right amount of information backing it up, not so much that I was bored or it felt above my head but enough that it all felt very plausible. Also this book has sea monsters. Really I could just end the review there because I mean have you ever read a book about raising sea monsters? This book really has it all, including a great love interest (no triangles here!) and EPIC SEA BATTLES. I really don’t want to spoil too much for you guys because you need to experience it for yourself. I will tell you that I laughed, cheered, and held my breath while reading this book. I always fall in love with a book that evokes so much emotion from me. I also didn’t always like the main character, and I kind of liked that. It just feels so much more real when a character isn’t perfect. This story was really about finding yourself and discovering what you’re really made of. There just aren’t words to adequately encompass my experience while reading this book. To try to describe what its like would be, Dredd meets Pirates of the Caribbean meets Pokemon meets Godzilla. Like I said, indescribable. I’m counting down the days till book 2. This is a 2016 release NOT TO BE MISSED!

What I liked:

The concept – I mean she trains sea monsters! Also, the constant action and the inner conflict the main character faces.

What I disliked:

I loved the characters but didn’t really relate to them

Would Recommend To:

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys sci-fi, action, kick butt female characters and the grey areas of right and wrong.

One thought on “Review: The Abyss Surround Us by Emily Skrutskie

Leave a Reply

