Sunday Street Team: Interview with Julia Ember

Interview with Julia Ember,
author of Unicorn Tracks
Released April 21st 2016

 


downloadAbout the author…

Originally from the Windy City, Julia Ember now resides in Sunny Scotland where she learned to enjoy both haggis and black pudding. She spends her days working as a professional Book Nerd for a large book wholesaler, and her nights writing YA Romantic Fantasy novels.  She also spends an inordinate amount of time managing her growing city-based menagerie of pets with Harry Potter themed names. Presently, she is the haggard slave Sirius Black and Luna Lovegood the cats and Bellatrix Le Snake. She also owns a freakishly adorable cob pony called Africa. A world traveller since childhood, Julia has now visited over 60 countries. Her travels inspire the fictional worlds she writes about and she populates those worlds with magic and monsters. 

Website: http://www.julia-ember.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/juliaemberwrites/
GR: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/13734129.Julia_Ember
Twitter:  @jules_chronicle
Email: Julia_ember@yahoo.com
Pre-Purchase Link: https://www.harmonyinkpress.com/books/unicorn-tracks-by-julia-ember-363-b

The Interview…

You’ve traveled a lot! What is one country you would like to re-visit?

(Julia) I’d really like to go back to China. I visited Hong Kong and Beijing when I travelled there before, but wasn’t able to explore the interior or get to any rural places. From what I’ve read and seen in travel publications, going to the interior is almost like visiting an entirely different place.What is the hardest part of the writing process for you?(Julia) Probably turning my first draft into the second. I write pretty quick first drafts and tend to just word vomit into my computer! But then cleaning that manuscript up into something I wouldn’t be ashamed to show my critique partners can take me some time.

Did you want to be an author from a young age?(Julia) I actually wrote my first ‘published’ short story when I was eight! I submitted it for a contest in a magazine for a girls’ club I was a member in that was similar to Girl Scouts. It won third place and the magazine printed it! I think from then on, I always had dreams of writing a novel.

What other legendary creatures would you like to write about?

(Julia) There are quite a few mythical beasts in Unicorn Tracks besides unicorns! I’ve got a book coming out in 2017 that is about magical tigers and I’m currently querying a project about mermaids! I’d really like to write something about dragons as they are also favourites of mine!

Favourite book in the Harry Potter series?

(Julia) Prisoner of Azkaban, definitely. I read it over and over when I was a kid. I used to be able to quotes all the Marauders’ Insults to Professor Snape via the Map!

What would your patronus be?

(Julia) I’d like to say something amazing like a phoenix, but in reality probably a house cat. I’m pretty lazy and hedonistic at times.

Who are some of your favourite authors?

(Julia) So many! Tamora Pierce, JKR, Sarah J Maas, Melinda Salisbury, Ken Follett, Justina Ireland, Suki Fleet, Emily Skrutskie, Janet Taylor .. I’ve been really impressed with so many of the other books I’ve read that are coming out this year as well. I think 2016 is going to be a really strong year for YA.

Do you have a quote or saying that is special to you?

(Julia)I’ve never been much of a quotes person, but I do like poetry! One of my enduring favourites is the opening dedication from Faust because I think it so perfectly captures the feeling of longing and anxiety tinged with hope for something better (kind of a downer, but I’ve loved it for years).

I feel the spell of long-forgotten yearning,
For that serene and solemn spirit realm,
And like an Aeolian harp my murmuring song,
lets its uncertain tones float through the air.

All about the book…

25231892After a savage attack drives her from her home, sixteen-year-old Mnemba finds a
place in her cousin Tumelo’s successful safari business, where she quickly excels as a guide. Surrounding herself with nature and the mystical animals inhabiting the savannah not only allows Mnemba’s tracking skills to shine, it helps her to hide from the terrible memories that haunt her.


Mnemba is employed to guide Mr. Harving and his daughter, Kara, through the wilderness as they study Unicorns. The young women are drawn to each other, despite that fact that Kara is betrothed. During their research, they discover a conspiracy by a group of poachers to capture the Unicorns and exploit their supernatural strength to build a railway. Together, they must find a way to protect the creatures Kara adores while resisting the love they know they can never indulge.

Click here to add it to your Goodreads TBR

Enter to win an awesome prize pack, including swag and a signed ARC of Unicorn Tracks! 

– Signed copy of Unicorn Tracksfullsizerender-5-300x293
– Swag incl. Postcard and Bookmark
– African Tribal Pattern Headband
– Unicorn Plush
– Millie Marotta’s Wild Savannah Adult Colouring book with Pencils — Author will colour and sign the first page! ❤
– Artisan Spiced Chocolate — Mnemba’s favourite.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Street Team: Interview with Julia Ember

    • So glad you think so! I was nervous, so nervous I almost got the post date wrong and put it up on the 3rd! I really enjoyed being a part of SST and can’t wait to do it again with Genius

      Like

Leave a Reply

