March Wrap Up & Challenge Update

April is here! This is my favourite time of year with all the flowers blooming and we are already hitting highs of 20+ degrees. I cringe
to think of how hot it will be here in July, it seems to get hotter every year. April is also the month of my birthday, which isn’t as fun as it used to be, the years seems to slip by quicker and quicker and I am no longer excited to be a year older. However I will be going to Yallwest at the end of the month as my birthday treat to myself so I am pumped for that!

This is a wrap up though, so lets talk about March. It felt like a long month, with its highs and lows. My health wasnt very good, emotionally or physically, at the start but greatly improved by the end of the month. I took some books I no longer had interest in to a local second-hand book store and received a ton of credit! So I got some new books without spending a dime! Which means I sort of stuck to my book buying ban. I received some incredible book mail from my friends Kelly and Jennifer, both of whom I will be enjoying Yallwest with. I also LOVED this months Owlcrate which included a feather quill, A book of writing prompts, The Serpent King by Jeff Zetner and more! It was their best crate in my opinion and you can read my recent interview with Owlcrate HERE.
As far as reading in March I think I did really well! I read more than I planned and accomplished all four of my buddy reads! A lot of them also applied to reading challenges I’m doing so that’s a bonus. My Goodreads goal this year was to read 55 books and I am 9 books ahead of schedule! I almost can’t believe it, and I havent read anything below a 3 star. I wonder if I’m too easy to please? Do you ever feel too critical or too lenient when it comes to rating books?

Books I Read In March

23719270

Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman – ★★★★
This was my first buddy read of the month and the first Erin Bowman book I have ever read, needless to say I would like to read more of her work. It is also the first YA Western I’ve read and I think it was done really well. *Review to come*
Challenges Met: Around the World in 52 Books  – #32 A historical fiction book

16069030

The Winners Curse by Marie Rutkoski – ★★★★
I had heard a lot of good things about this trilogy and while it didnt blow me away I have to agree that it was a good start. I read it with a lot of the #RockmyTBR members and from what I hear the second book is even better so I am excited to continue reading about Kestrel.
Challenges Met: Around the World in 52 Books – #22 The first book in a new to you seriesBacklist Books ChallengeFlights of Fantasy Challenge, #RockmyTBR

23127048

Air Awakens by Elise Kova – ★★★★★
Wow! Another book that I had heard given high praise and I think it deserves it. It felt fresh and hooked me for the next book in the series. Read my full review HERE
Challenges Met: Around the World in 52 Books – #17 A book with a beautiful coverFlights of Fantasy Challenge, #RockmyTBR

Tales of Beedle The Bard by J K Rowling – ★★★
I have always wanted to read these short stories but I rarely enjoy novellas and the like so I was hesitant. My favourite one was The Fountain of Fair Fortune.
Challenges Met: Around the World in 52 Books – #51 A short story from a well-known authorBacklist Books Challenge

22698568

Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen – ★★★★
I really enjoyed The Queen of the Tearling so I had high expectations for this sequel. While I did enjoy it and the action certainly ramped up, the main character I loved in the first book annoyed me in this one. Not enough that I wouldn’t read the conclusion later this year.
Challenges Met: Around the World in 52 Books – #3 A book from the Goodreads Choice Awards 2015 (winner or nominated)Flights of Fantasy Challenge

21947304

The Princess, The Scoundrel and the Farm Boy by Alexandra Bracken – ★★★★
When I discovered that Alexandra Bracken had written a Star Wars book I was interested in reading one for the first time. It was great! It has been awhile since I watched this movie so I really enjoyed reliving it with her beautiful writing style.
Challenges Met: None

45107

Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb – ★★★★★
This was the book of the month for the Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge Book Club. I love fantasy so I am always eager to try a classic. I wasn’t sure I would like it at first, the beginning didn’t sink its claws into me but I had this feeling that if I stuck with it I would love it. And I was right! **Review to Come**
Challenges Met: Flights of Fantasy Challenge, Backlist Books Challenge, #RockmyTBR

16068905

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – ★★★★★
This is not my usual genre but I heard good things about it and thought I could relate to a MC who loves to write. My #otspsecretsister was kind enough to send me a copy in February and I just picked this one up on a whim. I read a lot of fantasy so I guess I needed to change it up. I listened to the audiobook and read my physical copy at the same time. I really enjoyed it, I don’t know if I will read anymore Rainbow Rowell and I have no interest in Carry On but this will be a future re-read for sure. Also Levi has now set the boyfriend standards unattainable high. LOL **Review to come**
Challenges Met: Around the World in 52 Books – #34 A book about mental illness
Backlist Books Challenge, #RockmyTBR

Challenge Progress So Far..

Goodreads Challenge: (23/55) 42%
Around the Year in 52 Books: (16/52) 31%
Flights of Fantasy: (10/16) 63%
Backlist Books: (11/16) 69%
#RockmyTBR: (5/35) 14%
Finishing The Series: (0/6) 0%

April TBR

I swear at some point this year I will use my TBR tin, hopefully starting in May. I haven’t used it once yet and April will be no different because I am trying to read a bunch of books in preparation for Yallwest.

What about you?

I hope you are all enjoying springs arrival and had a good reading month in March. I would love to hear all about it and your plans for April! What been your best read this year? What upcoming release are you looking forward to?

 

4 thoughts on “March Wrap Up & Challenge Update

Leave a Reply

