April & May Wrap Up

Hey bookworms! I know I haven’t posted in quite some time and it means so much to me that you have stuck around and you’re reading this now. To say I had a lot going on in May is an understatement. I was stressing out, trying to find time to post when I hardly had time to eat or sleep so I just took the month off. Which means I never 20160430_100856posted my April wrap up so I am combining it with Mays because… well… I didn’t finish a single book in May. Please don’t go! I was honestly that busy. So, while I will be posting more this month I will also be trying to read a lot, so I might not be back to my regular posting consistency till July. Thanks for bearing with me guys. I also promise to get back to watching your videos and reading your blogs, commenting and generally rejoining the book community. Keep your eyes peeled for my post detailing my experience at Yallwest last month!

For those of you interested in what kept me so busy I will fill you in quickly. I moved out from staying with family to my own place about five minutes away. It sounds quick an easy in theory but with a ten month old I could only pack, transport, and unpack for a few hours each night. To slow things down I also had to do a lot of cleaning because the previous tenant, honestly more like the last few, left the place pretty gross. Also slowing the process, I started a new job that requires a LOT of training. So my days were very, very full. I’m loving my new place and the new job but I am VERY glad that it is all over now and I have time to just sit here and talk to you. I’m also excited about how bookish my new place is. There is a Six of Crows illustration by Fictograph in my living room. Enough said.

Books I Read In April & May

18798983
The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
 – 5★
The first few chapters were hard to get into but I was very quickly hooked by this beautiful story. I am 100% team Khalid by the way and I can’t wait to start reading The Rose and the Dagger *Review to come*
Challenges Met: Flights of Fantasy, #RockmyTBR
Around the Year in 52 Books – #3 A Book Set In A Different Continent

23395680
Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman
 – 4★
I love the way this story was told and the main character Kady was everything I want in a female lead. The ONLY reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because I hate the zombies in space trope. I was also looking forward to more Kady and Ezra in book #2 but it’s about a totally different couple. *Review to come*
Challenges Met#RockmyTBR,
Around the Year in 52 Books – #26 A Book Everyone Is Talking About

22752127
The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner 
– 5★
Those of you who follow my blog know I read 90% fantasy so this was something different. The writing was beautiful and honest, I laughed and cried;’ okay I cried a lot. It was SO good, I would really recommend it to everyone, and before this becomes a full review you should just go read it. *Review to come*
Challenges Met: None

20560137
An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
 – 4★
I was really stuck between 3.5 stars and 4 but I think I am leaning towards 4. As much as I disliked the beginning I LOVED the ending, so you could say this book grew on me. I am very interested to see where the second book takes us. *Review to come*
Challenges Met: Flights of Fantasy, #RockmyTBR
Around the World in 52 Books  – #1 A Book You Meant To Read In 2015, But Didnt

23846013
The Rose Society by Marie Lu
 – 3.5★
This book tore me apart. I loved it, then I hated it, and that just went back and forth the whole time. The main character is so different from any you have ever read before and I MUST know how it ends! *Review to come*
Challenges Met: Flights of Fantasy, #RockmyTBR
Around the World in 52 Books  – #38 A Book About An Anti Hero

11235712
Cinder by Marissa Meyer
– 5★
Wow. Okay, I admit it, I don’t like retellings, but this one was awesome! I loved that there were only the bare bones of the fairytale and the rest was fresh and original. Cyborgs, a princess who is trying to save the prince, aliens, what more could you ask for? Now I see what all the fuss was about. *Review to come*
Challenges MetFlights of Fantasy, #RockmyTBR, Backlist Books
Around the World in 52 Books  – #20 A Book With A First Name In The Title

16096824
A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas
 – 4★
I was worried that I couldn’t love this as much as the TOG series. It was another wonderful retelling and grabbed my attention so strong, that I want to read the next book ASAP *Review to come*
Challenges Met: Flights of Fantasy, #RockmyTBR
Around the World in 52 Books  – #30 A Fairytale From A Culture Other Than Your Own

25689033
Genius: The Game by Leopoldo Gout
 – 4★
This was action packed and fascinating. Dont let the synopsis put you off, you do not need to be a coder or a hacker to enjoy this one. Read my full review here.

June TBR

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (Audio Book)
Lirael by Garth Nix (Audio Book)
Paladin by Sally Slater (Kindle)
The Crowns Game by Evelyn Skye
This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
And I Darken by Kiersten White
Duskfall by Christopher Husberg
The Assassin and the Desert by Sarah J Maas
Lord of the Flies by William Golding
A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K Leguin

 

And you?

I have been away for only a month but it feels like forever! I am so out of touch with the community so tell me whats been going on, what did you read and love? What are you looking forward to in the coming months?

 

2 thoughts on “April & May Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

