Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: July 5th 2016
Genre: YA Fantasy/Paranormal
Source: ARC received at Yallwest
Link to the authorhttp://www.victoriaschwab.com

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary

Rating: 4 Broken Violins out of 523299512

Buzz Words: war, monsters, soul-stealing, music, dark urban fantasy, ruthless

Favourite Quotes:
“It doesn’t matter if you’re monster or human, living hurts” Kate, Page 352

“I don’t suppose you know how to drive?”
August shook his head. “No. I can probably figure it out -”
“That’s okay,” she said, shifting it into reverse. “We already have plenty of ways to die.” Kate and August, Page 300

My thoughts:

It took me a while to gather my thoughts on this one, partnered with mass procrastination and here we are two days before the release! I was really looking forward to this book at the beginning of 2016, so when I found out they were giving it away at Yallwest I knew I wanted to be in that line! Firstly the cover is stunning, and to my surprise the UK edition is even more so! (In my opinion) Second, I have never read a book by Victoria Schwab and I read very little that could be considered paranormal, so I was eager with the potential of new experiences. In the first few chapters I realized I had missed the ‘urban’ part of the genre for this book. I had been expecting a new fantasy world to explore, so it took me some time to acclimatize but I settled in quickly. I really liked the rough, apocalyptic/dystopian vibe of the setting. Right away I loved August, the male main character and disliked Kate, the female lead. She was so cocky and cruel, and I couldn’t understand why she wanted to be like her father who was clearly a ‘monster’. On the flip side the real monster, August was just so darn likeable, exhibiting kindness and conscious. I liked this ‘Good girl wants to be bad’ and ‘Bad boy wants to be good’ stereotype on its head thing that was going on. I also want to point out the little nursery rhyme for the different types of monsters? I LOVED IT. I will be singing it to myself for some time. And the word Sunai? Isn’t it beautiful? It just sort of slips and slides off the tongue like something smooth and deadly, which its aptly appropriate. In the end I came to love both Kate and August as they both underwent changes and personal discovery. I think it all changed for me once they were on the run together, sides no longer mattered, only each other. Things really picked up from here like a high-speed car chase that left me breathless, and ended with endless possibilies on the horizon. The whole story had a sort of poetry to it which added to the Romeo-and-Juliet-on-acid-with-demons feeling I was getting. There was this underlying rhythm to the whole story, and like a strong river current it carried me along. August’s instrument was a violin and I have always found them to be beautiful but sad and haunting and that is how I would describe this book. Yes, there is a lot of action, I laughed at certain moments and there’s a little bit of romance as well but it mostly left me feeling wistful. In a good way, the way a book leaves you thoughtful and moved. And like a piece of music, this story didn’t impact me most at any one point or note but as a whole, the way all the single notes make up one song. I was never sure what I thought or how I felt until the very end. Over all it didn’t feel so much like story as an experience, and I think everyone will experience something a little different. I highly recommend This Savage Song and I look forward to the continuation of this haunting melody story in book #2.

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Leave a Reply

