Top Ten Tuesday: Audiobooks!

ttt3

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Each week there is a new bookish topic. For more details, and to participate, click the link above.

Audio books !!

I have been waiting for this one you guys! This year I have really discovered a love for audiobooks, firstly because I can listen while I do chores or color and secondly because I read so much more this way. In fact I have listened to a total of 26 audiobooks so far this year! And now I would like to recommend ten of my favourites to you.

      1. Anne of Green Gables by L M Montgomery. I think listening to it was better than reading it would have been because the narrator gave Anne a sass I wouldn’t have.
      2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I read this and listened to it at the same time depending on what I was doing. I LOVED this book and the Carry On parts were done really well. Do you have a long commute? Try Fangirl and the time will fly!
      3. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I know that you miss out on some of the books visuals when you listen to the audiobook, but the different sounds and voices add to the sci-fi atmosphere of the story. It was incredible!
      4. Cinder by Marissa Meyer. Why did it take me so long to read this series? It’s amazing, and the narrator did an fantastic job giving each character a unique voice. Often I don’t enjoy when a female narrator reads male parts and visa versa but that was not the case here.
      5. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas. I wasn’t sold when I first started listening but I quickly changed my mind when I realized I could focus on visualizing the story. Plus I could listen to all the shenanigans Feyre was up to while I did the dishes; suddenly chores are awesome!
      6. We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach. The #1 thing I hate about some audiobooks is one narrator doing all the voices and doing a poor job. This however has a different narrators for each of the 4 main characters and it really brought the book to life. If I had read the book myself I feel I would have missed out.
      7. These Broken Stars. Another fantastic story that used sounds and two different voice actors to make it vivid and addicting.
      8. The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater. Okay so the voice actor – some love his voice and some hate it. I understand because I was hesitant too but now that I’m on to The Raven King I just can’t imagine anyone else bringing these characters to life! This series has left such an impression on me and I know that no one else could have read these characters like Will Patton.
      9. Walk On Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson. Again, another story with a narrator that went above and beyond. You really feel like Lee is telling you her story while you can smell the horses and feel the dust on your skin! I HIGHLY recommend this one.
      10.  And what would this list be without Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo!! I read the book originally but I bought the audiobook and always put it on after a rough day or when I can sleep. Not that it’s boring! It’s just that hearing these characters that have become so familar, banter with one another is soothing.

 

Please leave your recommendations in the comments !!

 

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Audiobooks!

  1. I read Cinder but listened to Scarlett. I think it’s the same narrator? I thought she did a great job, especially as there’s a few male characters to give distinct voices, for as well as the girls.

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too! Im listening to The Raven King now. Some people here his voice and the first few lines and stop. I admit if a friend hadn’t old me what an amazing job he did before I started I might have stopped as well.

      Like

    • I have only read the first two AOGG but I intend to continue one day. The first was my fav though. Really? Scarlet was the worst of the four for me! I liked her as a character in the next two books but not in her own? LOL I think Will Patton did well, for a guy, but I understand because I have felt that way about other audiobooks. Thank you for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

