The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
A Series Review

Genre: Fantasy/Science Fiction, Retelling
Link to the author: http://www.marissameyer.com/

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary 

Rating:

5  cyborg mechanics out of 511235712

Buzz Words:

Space, deadly plague, androids, cyborgs, intergalactic struggle, forbidden attraction.

Favourite Quotes:

“Broken isn’t the same as unfixable”

“You can helo me pick out a tiara when we’re done saving the world”

 

My thoughts:
I decided to do a review of the series as a whole because I read them all so close together. I would also like to note that I enjoyed all the books in the series via audiobook.

I had heard good things about Cinder for quite some time but whenever I was in the bookstore the cover never caught my attention. I’m not sure if I ever even read the synopsis. Part of me wishes I had read them sooner but getting to read them back to back was amazing, so waiting is a good thing sometimes. All the hype was defiantly well deserved.

Cinder blew me away. It stuck to the necessary elements of the fairytale and spun them in such a smart, creative, AMAZING new way. I never knew how much I needed a Cinderella retelling with cyborgs, evil queens from the moon and man/wold hybrids.  I loved the main character, she was tough, loyal and sassy (which is always a sure way to my heart) There was action, romantic intrigue, secrets revealed, and conflict, and this wasn’t a really long book. Every page was beautifully written and crucial, I wasn’t bored for a second. Cinder is a cyborg and a mechanic, through numerous minfortunes she ends up in a labratory to be used as a test subject thanks to her not-so-delightful step mother. She strikes up a romance with the prince, is assissted by her sidekick android Iko and comes face to face with an even more un-delightful relative, all of which wind her up in prison. Cinder and Iko won my heart, I loathed her step mother, and Prince Kai was growing on me even if he was a bit of a knob at the ball. Everything had been set up beautifully for the series and to say I was hooked was an understatment. Marissa Meyer you have cast a spell on me – I HAD to have the next book.

Scarlet didn’t blow me away. In fact main character annoyed me a lot (later on I grew to love her). The narrative was now split up in order to follow all the characters and I really enjoyed the parts with Captain Thorne. He has a lot of confidence and sarcasm; I couldn’t help but smile every time he was present. Honestly I can hardly remember what happened in this book but I will try. Cinder escapes imprisonment thanks to a dashing captain Thorne and they eventually meet up with Scarlet and Wolf. Scarlet is a farmers granddaughter until she discovers grandmas secret past and a hairy man named Wolf who has many secrets of his own. Together they explore the mystery surrounding her grandmother in an attempt to rescue her. In the nd they bump into Cinder and Thorne, realize they have mutual goals and jettison into space together. I hoped the next book would have me falling in love like the first had.

Cress was everything I wanted and I did fall in love all over again. Cress was adorable and quirky. I just want to say now that there were a lot of characters in this series but Marissa managed to give them each a unique voice and kept them true to their natures throughout. It’s incredible really. She also continued to spin your favourite fairy tales is unexpected ways. Okay don’t laugh but it was only half way through the third book that I realized Winter and Levanna were from Snow White! (DUH the mirrors!) I felt kind of silly but honestly it left me feeling even more impressed that I didn’t see it coming. In every book a little more of the puzzle fell into place and you felt like you could start to guess at an outcome but every time there was a new twist, a new piece of information and I was kept on my toes. Cress, who is crucial to the success of the group, is found and rescued, but Scarlet is lost and Wolf goes a little crazy because of that. Theres a bit of a crash landing on Earth, everyone is seperated, then reunited and Iko gets a bangin new body. Plans are made, a wedding is ruined, a prince is kidnapped saved, and Cinder blows minds. Literally. She also comes clean of all her secrets to Kai and he takes it pretty well. Theres a kiss and all is (almost) well with the world galaxy, for now.

Winter. The final chapter. I wasnt sure I was ready for it you guys. I felt like it was just one final show down so how could the book possibly be so long?! I’m not going to summarize this one because I really don’t want to spoil the ending in case some of you havent read it yet, it did only come out this year. It wasnt all I dreamed of but it was amazing and always when I thought that our heroes had lost they found a way to turn the tables in their favour. I got all the happily ever afters I wanted and the evil was vanquished but I did have some lingering questions. Hopefully those are answers in Star Above. All in all I cannot recommend this series enough. I would say it is the best retelling I have ever read. Marissa Meyer is a genius and I cannot wait to read more by her. Give at least the first book a try because honestly it was my favourite, I think, and if it doesn’t convince you then nothing will. Sassy androids. Epic journeys. Sarcastic, handsome captains. Deadly plague created by a sadistic moon queen? Honestly she left nothing out, just stop reading this review and go buy the book.

2 thoughts on “The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

  1. This is the series that propelled me into (or back into?) YA books. They aren’t perfect, but they are AWESOME. I absolutely devoured them! I think a re-read is in order. As are actual copies of them for my own bookshelf. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree 100% I know I will re-read in the future so I need to purchase Scarlet and Winter in PB because I only have Cinder and Cress so far. Ive taken a change of heart lately – I only want to buy books I know I will re-read in the future

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

