These Broken Liars of the Rock – 3 Mini Reviews

4932435Finnikin of the Rock by Melina Marchette – 3.5 Stars
I added this book to my TBR because it was recommended to me over and over and then it was kindly gifted to me by my #otspsecretsister. It had so many elements that I enjoy but it was still missing something. I loved the journey and the adventure, sometimes it was a little slow but those parts were full of entertaining dialogue. I also really enjoyed how the “prophecy” unfolded and resolved itself. Isaboe was my favourite character, strong in so many ways and spunky too. BUT, I was never sucked in – forced to stay up late to keep the pages turning. I think there were a couple of things that really left me wanting more. I never clicked with the main character, he didn’t even feel like he was crucial to any part of the story except to give strength to Isaboe. I also felt like the return to their kingdom was hugely anticlimactic? I thought it would take longer and more – I thought there would be heartbreaking loses. The ending left things well tied up so I don’t feel a NEED to read the next book. I’m undecided about continuing the series.

Favourite Quote
“Then I choose to drown. In hope. Rather than float into nothing.”

 

16143347

We Were Liars be E Lockhart – 3 Stars
I won this book from BookOutlet, so I knew nothing about it and didn’t know what to expect. The story had nice pacing and I really enjoyed the main characters voice, it had a lyrical quality to it. The friendships were heartwarming and the romance had that summer love feeling. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the story – that is until the reveal at the end! I admit I like happy endings but I would have been okay with some tragedy, it is a mystery after all, but this was a train wreck! Not a reflection on the writer, just my personal taste. I think it’s worth the read but I don’t think it will make the re-read list.

Favourite Quote
“What if we could stop being different colors, different backgrounds, and just be in love?”

 

13138635

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner – 4 Stars

I love it when I pick up a book I know next to nothing about and discover its this amazing gem I’ve been missing. That’s how I felt about These Broken Stars. I had heard good things and put it on my TBR with no intention of reading it anytime soon. Then I saw it was an audiobook I could listen to on Overdrive and since I needed an audio book at that moment I decided to give it a try. Immediately I liked that there were two narrators, it brings the characters to life in a way one can’t. I also felt their voices matched the characters personalities, because sometimes they don’t and it’s awkward to listen to. (IMO) There were  interludes where Tarver is being interviewed and the story becomes a recounting of the events that occurred when he and Lilac were stranded on an alien planet. He sees her as a princess and he’s kind of right but she really proves there’s more to her than the first impression. It’s a little cliché when two people are stuck together and fall in love but honestly it was done so right and so beautifully. The pacing was great and the atmosphere was incredible. (The audio music helped) It felt eery and gave me goose bumps a few times. The emotions between Lilac and Tarver was electric and that twist! It was heart wrenching and I did NOT see it coming at all. I highly recommend you read These Broken Stars.

Favourite Quote:
“Then she smiles, and it turns out she has dimples, and it’s all over.”

 

Leave a Reply

