And I Darken by Kiersten White

 

And I Darken by Kiersten White

Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: June 28th 2016
Genre: Historical Fiction
Link to the author: http://kierstenwrites.blogspot.ca/

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary

 

Rating: 3.5 Wallachians out of 5

Cover Rating: 5 Thumbs Up!!27190613

Favourite Quote:
“I think of you like a sister,” he said. “Like a brilliant, violent, occasionally terrifying sister that I would follow to the ends of earth, in part because I respected her so much and in part because I feared what she would do to me of I refused. ”
She nodded. “I would do awful things.”

Thoughts:
It took me over a month to read And I Darken, but eventually I waded my way through this dark retelling. That being said, I have a lot of good things to say about it. GORGEOUS COVER – like maybe the best cover of 2016? Incredibly historical, which might not be for everyone but personally I find really fascinating. Also why I was easily distracted, little action means it was easy to stop page turning and go to bed or watch some TV. Lada – at first I didn’t like her but as she grew and developed, I could see a lot of myself in her. She’s tough and stoic but also really passionate, diving head long into things with intensity. She had a lot of flaws but she was also inspiring; strong-willed, smart and determined. The writing was sharp, graphic, striking (I’m not finding words to capture what I experienced) and Lada had some incredibly strong, if slightly disturbing, lines.  By the time I finished the story I was hooked, it was worth sticking with and I’m even eager for the second book.

3 thoughts on “And I Darken by Kiersten White

    • Thank you! I feel like it worth sticking with and yes, the next cover is equally amazing. After reading your review I’m glad I wasnt the only one expecting fantasy. I had heard or seen it somewhere but I wasnt dissapointed because Ive been meaning to read more historical fiction. I thought she was a crazy child too, so vicious, but then I realized she had to be extremely volitile to be seen as anything but an item to barter.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

