The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

 

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

Publisher: Delacorte Press
Publication Date: November 1st 2016
Genre: Contemporary
Soure: ARC from Yallwest
Link to the authorhttp://www.nicolayoon.com/#welcome-new

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary

Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5

Cover Rating: 5 Thumbs UpYoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.indd

Favourite Quote:

“It’s not up to you to help other people fit you into a box”

Thoughts:

It only took a few chapters of The Sun Is Also A Star to enchant me and I fell head over heels for both of the main characters with all their beautiful quirks and imperfections. This is a truly incredible story about life and love and self discovery, I would recommend to everyone.

The cover is dazzling, and once you start to read the story you realize the design is representing the threads of people’s lives tangled and intertwined. Genius.

The two main characters are Natasha, who likes facts and objective thinking, and Daniel who is a romantic and a poet. Two very different people whose worlds collide in a series of unlikely ways. The story takes place over one incredible day, and both the dreamer and the realist are changed forever. The chapters are mostly from Daniel’s or Natasha’s point of view. However, there are smaller chapters from minor characters and also chapters that provide essential pieces of information. These extra people and pieces might not seem relevant but you come to realize they are all a part of the threads bound to our main characters lives. As you read on you discover that all the characters are entwined and their smallest actions affect one another. Think back to the cover art! I thought it was one of the neatest parts of this book.

We meet our two characters on a day that is most critical in both of their lives; love is the last thing either of them is expecting. Daniel is trying to decide what his future will look like, caught between the desire to please his parents or follow his own path. Natasha on the other hand knows exactly what she wants, but her family’s deportation is standing in the way of that. Twists of fate bring them together and Natasha, reluctant at first, agrees to spend time with Daniel. Together they explore the city and Daniel tries to convince her that sometimes love happens regardless of reason or logic. I really enjoyed that there was a little role reversal; usually the girl is the romantic and the boy is all business. The banter between these two was on point! They made me laugh but they also put their foot in it from time to time and that made the story all the more real and relatable. Reading about their journey through the city, the complexities of family and falling in love was so beautiful. Probably the best love story I have honestly ever read.

The Sun Is Also A Star will give you all the feels. All the warm, fuzzy, please pass me the tissue box feels and you will love every second of it. I enjoyed Everything Everything earlier this year and now, after reading her second book I consider Nicola Yoon to be an auto-buy author.

7 thoughts on “The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

  1. Great review. I think we have been reading the same books lately as this will be my next review to write. I agree with you this book was great and I loved all the additional characters POV’S. I gave same rating as you too. What you reading next?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That so funny! I look forward to your review. I am reading The Alchemists of Loom, and I won’t be reading a lot in the next month because I’m doing NaNoWriMo for the first time. I have about 16 books I want to read in December. LOL You?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL there is no way I will be able to read 16 books, December is busy with gift making and christmas celebrating as well. I usually read and listen to about 8 books in a month. So 16 wont happen not to mention that some of them are chunky books. Most of them.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, it’s a great feeling to know that my words have influenced someone about an author or a book. Often I feel like I don’t have much to say or bring to the review table, so thank you for your feedback. I really hope you enjoy her work.

      Like

Leave a Reply

