My first blogging anniversary!

Wow you guys it has officially been a whole year since I started blogging! In some ways it feels like it has gone by so fast but when I think of all I have learnt and all the people I’ve met it feels much longer.

I actually started out with a YouTube channel (I didn’t want to say that in case you go looking for my videos and see how terrible they were) I enjoyed Booktube but I just couldn’t find the time or adequate lighting for videos and editing. So, instead I started up this blog and I really fell in love with it. Ok in the beginning I really had no idea what I was doing. My reviews were lacking and I had no idea how to format/html, and honestly I’m still just at the tip of the iceberg. But I’m learning, and I’m proud of how far I’ve come. I would like to look into self hosting next so I can start to do more customizing.

My first year looked a little like this: I discovered Top Ten Tuesdays, a weekly meme that the list maker in me adores. I became a member of the Airclan and street team for Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I met so many amazing people including my clan leader, Kelly, who I ending up meeting up with at Yallwest! That was another incredible experience and it would never have been the same had I not made so many friends through the book community. I started a Bookstagram account and LOVED it! I really enjoy taking book photos and I discover a lot of new books and bookish items through bookstagram. It was Twitter that was way over my head and I wanted to quit but I’m so glad I stuck it out. Now I really enjoy interacting with everyone and I have come to love the chats the most, such as the #BBTC chats hosted by Brittanyrambles.

I had the pleasure of interviewing Nicole Castroman, author of Blackhearts. Emily Skrutskie, author of The Abyss Surround Us and Korrina, the creator of Owlcrate. (You can find those interviews linked below) I fiddled around with creating my own meme Page 394 in honor of Alan Rickman. I discovered a love of audiobooks and thanks to them I have conquered and exceeded my Goodreads goal for the year!! I’ve had the opportunity to read a few amazing books before their release date which was really special. By becoming a member of The Sunday Street Team, organized by Nori, I was able to review amazing books like Bound By Blood and Sand by Becky Allen. Raincoast Books invited me to their Winter/Spring Preview which was so much fun and such an honor. I also joined a group on Goodreads that does Monthly Recommendations, another list making meme that I really enjoy. (But kills my TBR LOL) And most recently I became a street team member for The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova and received an ARC, which is INCREDIBLE by the way. It releases in January of 2017 and you should really add it to your Goodreads, dare i saw even pre-order?! (I do)

It has truly been an incredible year! On top of that of course are all the amazing books I’ve read, and the daily interactions with this beautiful community. It can be a lot of work but I have gained so much by taking the step to create my own blog, I don’t regret it for a second! I really want to take the time to thank each and every one of you who have subscribed to my blog, twitter or instagram. Everyone who commented, recommened a book, friended me on Goodreads, liked my tweets, gave me helpful tips and advice – you are all the reason I come back day after day and keep me going in my RL as well. There are not words for how grateful I am and I wish I could reach out and give you all a hug. but this GIF will have to do LOL

giphy

Interview with Emily Skrutskie, author of The Abyss Surround Us

Interview with Korrina, the creator of Owlcrate

Monthly Recommendations: September – Science Fiction

10 thoughts on “My first blogging anniversary!

Leave a Reply

