Blog Tour – Ever The Hunted Review and Q&A

Ever The Hunted by Erin Summerill

Publisher: HMH Books For Young Readers
Publication Date: December 27th 2016
Genre: YA Fantasy
Soure: ARC from Raincoast Books in exchange for a review
Link to the authorhttp://www.erinsummerill.com/

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary

Rating: 3.5 Stars24846331

Buzz Words:

legendary bounty hunter, love, heartbreak, murder, quest, dark magic

Favourite Quote:

“Bravery is a choice that is yours to make. Don’t let fear steal your will.”

Thoughts:

*Please note this is NOT spoiler free*

This was probably my most anticipated debut of the year, and definitely winds the award for most gorgeous cover. So I was over the moon when I got the opportunity to be a part of the blog tour. That being said this one didn’t blow me away like I had hoped.

I was expecting heart pounding adventure and the first few chapters were heading in that direction, but as I progressed I found it easy to put down. I wasn’t connecting with the characters or gripped by suspense or epic action scenes. I experienced an over all feeling of wanting more. My favourite scenes were at the beginning as well, when Britta was hunting in the Ever Woods and when she traveled with Leif, Thomas and the Captain on the hunt for Cohen. She was strong in the face of so much heart-break and loss. She has been shunned her whole life but it hasn’t made her bitter or cold, in fact she is warm and often selfless.

The story is fast paced but I didn’t ever feel heart pounding suspense and every twist could be seen a mile away. Considering we were either chasing a murderer or being chased by one I expected a few edge-of-my-seat moments. In the middle of the story there was a lot of talking, I wanted more doing, more action and more magic. The ending felt a little anti-climactic as well, wrapping up so nicely that you could almost leave it at that. The one sort of hook was just a quick thing at the end. There’s a brief moment when Britta describes the connection between her and Cohen changing and feeling a new tug towards the King after healing him. This left me confused more than intrigued, but Aodren really does interest me so hopefully this means there’s more of him in book two.

The magic system was elemental which I love and this did manage to feel new and interesting. I loved the term Channeler and Spiriter, the addition beyond the typical four elements was great. I look forward to exploring more of Britta’s abilities and meeting other kinds of Channelers in book two.

Britta started out strong for me but later seemed to lose that strength. Often doubting and second guessing herself. Granted she went through a lot (dead mom, broken heart, murdered father) and a flawed character is a realistic character, I was just expecting a little more gumption from our lead. I was also hoping for more bow action since she is an incredible shot. I love main characters that are well-trained with a weapon, I just wanted to see more of it. Cohen did not have me swooning, but I did love that he was loyal and had a heart of gold. I am over the ‘he’s kind of a jerk but we fall in love anyway’ cliché, so Cohen was refreshing!  The build up between them was brutal though, I cringed every time Britta thought that he didn’t have the same feelings for her (which was a lot) And of course he did! There was a lot of eye rolling on my part. Once they did come to their senses and realized they did both felt the same it was very sweet and I did like that it wasnt insta-love since they had been friends for a long time. I think my favourite character was Enat, she was the kick butt female I was waiting for! Seriously, there are book boyfriends but can we make book grandmothers a thing? Enat would be at the top of that list. I am heartbroken that we will not see more of her in the sequel.

For me this one really hit a lot of marks but missed a lot as well, so I gave it 3.5 stars. Over all, I did enjoy it and I would recommend it to fantasy readers. I’m also intrigued to see where the story goes and how the characters will grow along the way, I will defiantly be continuing this series.

The writing was beautiful and I can’t wait to read more from Summerill. .

Q&A with Erin Summerill

As a mother of one who struggles to find time to write I am in awe of your success with four! What does your writing routine look like? Do you have any habits or rituals that must be performed (ie. copious amount of tea, special playlist, certain writing pen)?

Thank you, Jessica!

When my children were in the baby and toddler stage, writing was difficult. Maybe that’s an understatement. Writing was near impossible. I used to put them to bed and then write until 1am. But I was pumping out a lot of words that didn’t make a lot of sense. Now that my kids are in school, I start writing as soon as they’re gone and stop around lunchtime. Keeping the same hours daily has helped me produce more quickly. But one other thing I’ve done is purchased a purse that my small laptop fits in. In the afternoons when I’m Ms. Taxi service, shuffling my kids from one activity to another, I’ll pull out my laptop whenever I have to wait for more than ten minutes. I’ve found I write a lot in my minivan.

Whenever I’m not feeling in the writing zone, I need a cold Coke Zero and a box of Hot Tamales. If I have those beside me, I’m set to start writing. I also like to listen to movie soundtracks and classical music. I tend to create a playlist for each book I write. It’s perfect for setting the mood.

Thank you for sharing Erin! I really appreciate it because I struggle to write with just one. Hearing from writers that are also moms really encourages me to keep going.

ever-the-hunted-blog-evite

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour – Ever The Hunted Review and Q&A

Leave a Reply

