Windwitch Non Spoiler Review & Giveaway

Windwitch by Susan Dennard

Publisher: Tor Teen
Publication Date: January 10th 2017
Genre: Fantasy
Soure: ARC from Tor Teen
Link to the author: http://susandennard.com/

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary

 

RATING: ☆☆☆☆☆29939390

FAVOURITE QUOTE:

 

THOUGHTS:

I won’t be talking about the summary because that would spoil things for those of you who haven’t read Truthwitch yet. I hope that this review will convince you to go pick up a copy of the first book in The Witchlands series if you were on the fence before.

Last year I really enjoyed Truthwitch, yes I had a little trouble getting into it at first but only because there was so much going on in this beautiful, diverse new world. And by the swoony dance scene a few chapters in I was 100% invested! After reading the second book I can tell you that Dennard has a firm grip on this world and how it works. The story takes place in three different landscapes and each one is painted so vividly that I see it, feel it, and smell it (which was unfortunate at times – you’ll have to read it to know what I mean). It takes a masterful hand to deliver a complex, vivid new world to a reader without overwhelming them and I can’t wait to explore it more in book three! There are so many incredible places to visit and new creatures to run into, the witchlands is quickly becoming one of my new favorite fantasy worlds.

In the second book in the witchlands series the characters are separated and so we read from five points of view throughout. I find that MPOV is hit or miss and this was a hit! I was never confused or forgot who I was reading about because each character had such a distinct voice. I really enjoyed the way that some of the characters stories overlapped and influenced one another and I hope that continues as the series does. That being said, I favor some of the characters and couldn’t wait to get back to their chapters! (Sorry Merik) That is not a criticism of the authors writing though just my personal preferences. In fact, I had no dislikes when it comes to the characters. Each of them faced a different struggle both internally and externally and I felt that the author managed to maintain each character’s integrity throughout. I would imagine it can be hard to stay true to each character’s nature when switching back and forth but Dennard did it without a hitch. I personally related to Iseult the most, there is a moment around page 260 that just broke my heart because I’ve been there myself. This book showed more depth to the characters, their vulnerabilities and the pasts that haunt them. Making them all the more real and loveable to me. There wasn’t a lot of romance in this book, but there was build up and tension between certain characters that I SHIP SHIP SHIP!! They are just like my OTP of all time. Their interactions were like a well choreographed dance, a graceful, intense push and pull between them that was so steamy in a subtle way.

I felt like Dennard’s writing was good in Truthwitch and it only improved in Windwitch. The thing that blew me away was the unpredictability. There were all these hints along the way and I was trying to figure it out but I never saw the reveals coming. Once they happened, I thought back and realized all the clues I needed were there! There is a line in Truthwitch, “With your right hand give a man what he expects and with your left cut his purse: and that’s exactly what Dennard did. She left you clues but you were looking in all the wrong places when the answer was right in front of you! It was masterful, all the pieces fell into place and I think that is exactly how a story should be written. I’m not capable of describing this books amazingness, just go read it for yourself, trust me.

I am dying for book three already, mostly because of the build up in book two. Second books are often dull, dragging things out unnecessarily. Windwitch however, sank its claws in right from the start, offering twists I didn’t see coming and new intriguing side characters. Dennard gave us a little time to get reacquainted with everyone and then the adventure took off, keeping a nice pace that had me turning the pages well into the night.  As the book went on the intensity the action built and built until I was on the edge of my seat reading the last few chapters, well aware even before reaching the end that I was heading for a major book hangover. Be ready for the ride of your life because there is never a dull moment with this cast.

I devoured this book, fell in love with the characters, laughed at their sass and related to their sorrows. I highly recommend this series to anyone who loves fantasy, Dennard is working magic on these pages and I have a feeling she’s only going to impress us further in Bloodwitch!

A big thank you to Tor Teen for sending me a copy of Windwitch for this review!

 

20170108_005218

24 thoughts on “Windwitch Non Spoiler Review & Giveaway

    1. Isn’t it? I think thats one of the elements that makes a series really memorable for me but so few fantasys do it really well. I feel bad for the rest of the fantasy I read this year, it has stiff competition. Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! Really that means so much to me. I often feel like I dont articulate my thoughts and feeling clearly in reviews but knowing that it effected you this way makes me feel proud of the review! I really hope you enjoy it.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. A really great non-spoilery review! I also had a little bit of a tough time with the first couple of chapters of Truthwitch, but once everything was set up and the swoosh dance scene kicked off I found it super good. Looking forward to seeing this next step for the characters!

    Thanks for the opportunity.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

