February Reading Highlights

My February Reading Stats

I read 5 books and listened to 3 audiobooks
That was an average of 337 pages per book and 60 pages per day

*Click a highlighted title to read my full review*

Piper Perish (ARC) by Kayla Cagan ★★★.5
I almost DNF’d this one but I’m glad I gave it a chance, because it’s a passionate and unique contemporary.

Warbreaker (Audio) by Brandon Sanderson ★★★.5
While it was the masterpiece I have come to expect from Brandon Sanderson, it’s my least favorite of his books that I’ve read.

The Edge of Everything (eARC) by Jeff Giles ★★
A very unusual read, with a few elements I enjoyed but too many flaws to receive a better rating.  

The Valiant (ARC) by Lesley Livingston ★★★★.5
WOW, WOW, WOW! Such a well-rounded story; Livingston didn’t waste a word. One of the best historical fictions I’ve ever read. 

Keeping The Moon (Audio) by Sarah Dessen ★★★.5
I haven’t read a Dessen book in so long, too long, and this reminded me why I love her books.

Furiously Happy (Audio) by Jenny Lawson ★★★★★
I listened to this on a whim and I cannot put into words how glad I am that I did. I could highly relate to the author, I laughed till I couldn’t breathe, and cried too. I feel like everyone should listen to this book, those struggling with mental health and those around them.

A Darker Shade of Magic (Own) by Victoria Schwab ★★★★
You know that hesitant feeling you get before reading a hyped book? I had that. I can say now that it deserves all the hype. I had Harry Potter feels even though the stories are nothing alike.
HIGHLY recommend 

Rat Queens Vol2 (Library) by Kurtis Wiebe ★★
I had hoped that this volume would win me over for the series, sadly I think this is where the Rat Queens and I part ways.

I DNF’d:
Wild (Audio) by Cheryl Strayed
I really thought I would love this one but a lot more time was spent on the past than on the present. It wasn’t what I was hoping for and quite uninteresting.

Off The Page

Here’s a little update about my life outside of the books. My son is still learning new words daily, ‘Mermaid’ and ‘Owl’ are his new favorite. Still haven’t heard a ‘Mama’. *sigh* Lately he has been all about books! He likes to sit and flip through all the ones on his shelves and he even re-arranged them for fun. LOL. I wonder where he learned that? I’m proud of how few books I bought in February, only purchasing one second hand, (Black Prism by Brent Weekes) and I’ve stuck to reading mostly books I already own. I took a lot of downtime in February due to my depression and anxiety. It feels like its winning most days but with a new counselor and more sunny days on the way, I hope I can regain myself. In the blogosphere we were blessed with the Retribution Rails cover! So gorgeous, I already pre-ordered. As well as the exciting news about Leigh Bardugos, The Language of Thorns! I can never get enough Grishaverse so I’m very happy about this. Sadly two of my anticipated releases were pushed back to 2018, Iron Gold by Pierce Brown and TOG #6 by Sarah J Maas. While I am disappointed I also know that they were going to be big books so now I have more time in 2017 for other reads. Gotta find that silver lining!
I love winter but, at least where I live, everything is starting to melt and get muddy and it just looks blah out there. I’m so ready for the green of spring and all the beautiful flowers that signify new growth. I hope to feel some new growth within myself as well.

Books Discovered

Books Hauled:

Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman
An eARC from Netgalley

The Black Prism by Brent Weekes
Two of my favourite Booktubers love this series so when I saw it at the second hand bookstore I had to snatch it up. 

Added to Goodreads:

An Enchantments of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson
Wow, that cover! I’ve heard great things about the story as well.

Last Day on Mars by Kevin Emerson
I stumbled across it on Goodreads and I’m intrigued.

Coming Next & Up For Review

In March I’m hosting a readathon so I have only one book for review:
Definitions of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor

3 thoughts on “February Reading Highlights

Leave a Reply

