Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K Vaughan

Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K Vaughan

Publisher: Image Comics
Publication Date: October 23rd 2012
Genre: Fantasy
Source: Library Book
Link to the authorhttp://bkvcomics.com/

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary

RATING: ☆☆☆.5

BUZZ WORDS:

Soldiers, Galactic War, Love, Sexy, Fantasy, Science Fiction

THOUGHTS:

I’m excited to finally find a graphic novel I enjoy and look forward to continuing!

I love the main characters and the fact that they’re parents. As a parent myself that was very relatable. Thankfully I don’t have to juggle bounty hunters, galactic war, and friendly ghosts on top of the trials of being a new parent. These two lovers are sort of the Romeo and Juliet of this story, they were previously on opposite sides of a war that has been going on for centuries until fate brought them together. Now they’re on the run, searching for a safe place in the galaxy to raise their child.

All the different races were a little confusing but really interesting, and the spider-woman mercenary is my favorite. I’m a little confused about who is on which side but overall the storyline is much easier to follow than other graphic novels I’ve read. I’m hoping that as I read further volumes I will come to understand the world better. The is also a sort of narration from the child’s future perspective. I really like it; it’s a unique addition to the story. One thing I always enjoy in graphic novels which is also present in Saga is the humor. It’s the kind of humor I appreciate. The artwork was good, but not my favorite of the graphic novels I’ve read, the story is stronger though and that’s more important to me. I can’t wait to see where this family go, and what perils and adventures await them!

9 thoughts on “Saga Vol. 1 by Brian K Vaughan

    1. I’ve never been to B&N but I agree, I couldn’t buy them. They are so expensive for so little reading. The art is worth it don’t get me wrong but unless Im going to cut it up and put it on the wall, I’d never see it enough to warrant buying it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

