The Foretelling by Alice Hoffman

The Foretelling by Alice Hoffman

Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 6th 2016
Genre: Fantasy/Mythology
Soure: Owned (Re-Read)
Link to the authorhttp://alicehoffman.com/

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary

RATING: ☆☆☆☆

FAVOURITE QUOTE:

“The weak are cruel. The strong have no need to be.”

THOUGHTS:

This is a beautiful and powerful story of feminism.

The main character is Rain, and this story is her discovering who she is and what it means to be a leader of her Amazonian tribe.

She faces many trials in her lifetime. She yearns for a connection with her distant mother, strives to be the best warrior, and struggles to feel a part of the whole. She experiences loss, love and betrayal and each shapes and molds her into a strong, intelligent woman worthy of leading her people.

I don’t want to go into a lot of detail about what happens because it is a short story and I worry anything I say will be spoilers. I really feel this is story each person must experience for themselves. I don’t think it matters what your usual genre is either, everyone can enjoy this story if they like strong, independent women. I will say that the romance, if you can even call it that, is very small in this story and not the main theme.

I am so glad that I re-read this book and I plan to do the same in the future. If I was to describe it I would say that it was inspiring, moving, and raw, yet that doesn’t quite capture it at all.

I highly recommend it and I look forward to reading more of Alice Hoffman’s work.

One thought on “The Foretelling by Alice Hoffman

Leave a Reply

