Definitions of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor

Definitions of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor

Publication Date: April 4th 2017
Genre: Contemporary
Soure: ARC from Raincoast Books
Link to the authorhttps://whitneytaylorbooks.com/

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary

RATING: ☆☆☆☆

BUZZ WORDS FROM THE SYNOPSIS:

humorous, depression, Twizzler-chomping, pregnant, re-write the rules

 

THOUGHTS:

I don’t feel that I can review this book in my usual format or critique it for the usual criteria. My reading experience can’t be summed up that way, so I’m going to try something different.

  • I really, honestly enjoyed Definition of Indefinable Things and I think others will too, but I don’t think it will be for everyone. The voices on these pages are so strong and so distinct that they will deeply resonate with the right people.
  • My descriptions aren’t going to do her justice but I can’t wait to read more by Whitney Taylor, and that says something.
  • I laughed often, and for me, that’s always the sign of a good book.
  • There are a lot of parentheses, and I loved them.
  • Reggie’s story is awkward, messy, raw, and beautiful – just like life. That’s why it was so great because it was written like a real experience, organically and without a hard beginning or end. I think it stirred up all my feelings because I could relate to each character in some way. My struggles with depression have never been like Reggie’s but I could still see myself in her and I think others will as well.
  • I’m not a teen anymore but all the stuff about lives intersecting in surprising ways and accepting that we can’t fit life into neat, little, manageable boxes – is still relevant to me now. So don’t write it off as another high school-teen-drama-contemporary! (I’m bad for that)
  • I said I wasn’t going to touch on the regular criteria but for those of you that just need to know… The pace was right, the characters developed over time, and it was only predictable in the way that life itself is predictable. (ie. life is ironic and the universe has a sense of humor, or if it can go wrong it will)
  • Taylors writing is in a league of its own, and I’m going to finish off this review by sharing some of my favorite passages. If they don’t convince you to read this book, nothing I say will.

“It may have just been in my head, but I felt like I was third-wheeling it hard. Like, as hard a girl on New Year’s Eve who watches her friends make out as she drinks tequila and plots what size apartment to rent to fit all twelve of her cats”

“I looked away right as more lighting exploded, rosy hues kissing the gray. The flashes were like light bulbs across the atmosphere, like the gods were paparazzi taking pictures of the lost and broken little humans wandering aimlessly beneath their thumbs”

“How does anyone know they’re depressed? You feel equally alive and dead and have no idea how that’s even possible. And everything around you doesn’t seem so full anymore. And you can’t tell if the world is empty or you are. That’s how I knew. I realized it wasn’t the world that was empty”

And there’s a beautiful part at the bottom of page 225 but I’ll let you find it yourself, it was my favorite. There are many more I’d love to share because they made me laugh or resonated with me but I don’t want to spoil the whole experience for you. How about this, if you read it send me a message and let’s talk about our favorite moments.

Thank you to Raincoast Books for the opportunity to read a book I know I will be thinking about for some time.

One thought on “Definitions of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor

Leave a Reply

