Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them by Newt Scamander

Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them by Newt Scamander

Publication Date: March 14th 2017
Source: Review Copy From Raincoast Books

RATING: 4 Stars

THOUGHTS:

I didn’t read Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them when it was first released. I’ve never really enjoyed companions novels, and my mediocre experience of Beetle the Bard last year only cemented that feeling. However, this book brought me all the warm, fuzzy, nostalgia I had hoped for in a Harry Potter companion book.

I adore Newt’s margin notes and footnotes throughout, little details like that can really win me over in a big way. The illustrations were fantastic (pun intended) as well, they look like what you’d expected to find in a wizards textbook. I only wish there were one for each of the interesting beasts described. Personally, my favorites are the dragons (was there any doubt), the Occamy, the Mooncalves, and the Puffskein. Judging by my love of muggle animals I think I would have been a lot like Newt had I been born a wizard.

MY FAVOURITE BEAST:

OCCAMY

Classification: XXXX

“The Occamy is found in the Far East and India. A plumed two-legged winged creature with a serpentine body, the Occamy may reach a length of fifteen feet. It feeds mainly on rats and birds, though it has been known to carry off monkeys. The Occamy is aggressive to all who approach it, particularly in defense of its eggs, whose shells are made of the purest, softest silver.” (Page 66)

How awesome would it be to carry this guy around in your pocket? Or your suitcase of course. I just love that they grow to their required space. I think I am particularly smitten with the Occamy because it reminds me not only of Harry Potter but a little of The Neverending story as well. Both were a big part of my childhood.

Which is your favorite beast?

One thought on “Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them by Newt Scamander

Leave a Reply

