The Edge of the Abyss by Emily Skrustskie

The Edge of the Abyss by Emily Skrustskie

Publication Date: April 18th 2017
Genre: Science Fiction
Soure: eARC from Netgalley
Link to the author: http://skrutskie.com/

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary

Rating: 3.5 Stars

Favorite Quote:
“Today isn’t just about saving the NeoPacific. It’s about proving why it’s ours in the first place.”

Thoughts:

You can read my review of Emily Skrutskie’s first book The Abyss Surrounds Us here.

This is the conclusion to the duet and overall I was pleased with it as a wrap up of the story. I would love to see more books in this world though, it’s so fun and original. I love the water, always have, couple that with monster training, sci-fi, genetics and a messy love story and I swear Skrutskie wrote this just for me.

Warning: there are spoilers ahead!

The Abyss Surrounds Us ended with a bang. A lot of things were left up in the air and unresolved, I think it’s sequel did a good job of answering a lot of my questions and wrapping things up. I especially liked the reconciliation Cas had with her family and previous life as a reckoner trainer. I liked that it didn’t clean up perfectly, it isn’t a long book and for everything to have resolved would have been unrealistic.  Life is messy and things don’t work out the way we think they will and Skrutskie captures that on her pages.

I wasn’t sure where the story would take our main character after the first book but it followed a logical and interesting extension of the original plot. Cas faced a lot of internal struggle, figuring out where she belonged and how to come to terms with her choices. That struggle was reflected on a larger scale in a conflict that effected everyone who lived on the NeoPacific. The pirates were the “bad guys” when Cas lived on shore. In book two she ends up seeing the ocean she has always loved in a very different way, as one of those pirates. She discovers that the morally gray area in life is a lot larger than she ever thought. Unfortunately, I didn’t feel that I had as deep of a connection with Cas in the second book. She was dealing with these heavy emotions and conflicts, but I didn’t feel like there we explored them before the story was wrapped up and over. There was also a lot less action, I didn’t feel a lot of excitement and anticipation until the very end. Everything leading up to that felt very laid back and dialogue heavy. I enjoyed it but it didn’t have me turning the pages till the wee hours if you know what I mean. (Who am I kidding you’re reading a book blog, of course, you know what I mean) I also saw right through some of the authors foreshadowing. I really hate when I can predict things too far in advance – Cas having to face a monkey monster (Simioid) in the end? Hinted at very early on. There also wasn’t enough Bao! I really missed all the training from book one, it wasn’t necessary for the second book but everything about Bao’s return felt too rushed.

The romance though, that was great. It was a little more like a tug O war game than a romance, and often that back and forth really annoys me but this was different. Cas and Swift weren’t being petty and dramatic like you often see in YA romance, there were real, hard issues coming between them. The were drawn together over and over by a strong connection but struggled to leave the hurt and the history behind them. I could feel the turmoil and their anguish and to me, if I’m feeling what they’re feeling, that’s some great writing. I loved these two and I was so happy with their ending. I like to think they’re out on the ocean somewhere, a little bit pirate and a little bit monster trainer, saving the NeoPacific and butting heads. LOL.

I will say that the writing style and the voice felt consistent in both books which is very important to me. And while the first three-quarters of the book might have been less than action packed I was invested in the characters enough that I had to know what happened. Skrutskie writes fabulous characters, so flawed and real, you can’t help but love them and want to see them happy. These books will always remain on my favorites shelf for that reason. This finale may not be everything I had hoped but I will never stop being thankful to Skrutskie for sharing her monster-trainer-turned-pirate with us.

A big thank you to NetGalley for this review copy of The Edge of the Abyss!

Leave a Reply

