Girl Out Of Water by Laura Silverman

Girl Out Of Water by Laura Silverman

Publication Date: May 2nd 2017
Genre: Contemporary
Source: eARC from Netgalley
Link to the authorhttp://laurasilvermanlovesbooks.tumblr.com/

Click Here For The Goodreads Summary

RATING: 4 Stars

BUZZ WORDS:

Summer, Surfing, Tacos, Romance

THOUGHTS:

Girl Out of Water drops the reader right into a day at the beach shared by a tight-knit group of friends. Have I mentioned how much I love stories about friendships?? The dialogue between everyone really drove this story for me. Anise is so sassy and confident! The family dynamic was also just so raw and real and heart warming. There was so sugar or gloss on this, just a real story, about a real girl, facing real problems and making real mistakes. Anise our main characters is a girl who knows what she wants and what her plans are, so when her father tell her she’ll be spending her summer in a different state she is unprepared for the upheaval. People who have to step outside their comfort zones and thrive there are some of my favorite stories. The characters Anise meets in Nebraska and the relationships formed is really the heart of this story and I loved each and every one of them. Lincoln was one of my favorites. He didn’t tick the typical YA teen boy boxes and I can’t thank Silverman enough for that. He wasn’t broody or a bad boy. He never pushed Anise outside her comfort zone, but gave her opportunities to take the leap herself. I love love loved him. He was not just a supporting character for ANise but stood on his own and shined! All of the characters were REAL and FLAWED and DIVERSE, and I think teens need to read about more characters like these! This would be an excellent summer read and the focus of the story was different from any contemporary I’ve ever read. The conflicts the main character had to deal with and the deep-seated issues she had been struggling with her whole life were unlike the typical YA teen struggles. I also loved Silverman’s writing, it was just the right amount of descriptive that I felt like I was right there with Anise. The setting, as well as her emotions, came right off the page. What the writing lacked at times were momentum and risk, some parts dragged a little and there weren’t enough fireworks so to speak. (excluding the literal fireworks at the end of course). But, I didn’t feel that those two negatives stopped me from wanting to pick the book back up and find out how it would conclude.

This would be an excellent summer read and the focus of the story was different from any contemporary I’ve ever read. The conflicts the main character had to deal with and the deep-seated issues she had been struggling with her whole life were unlike the typical YA teen struggles. I also loved Silverman’s writing, it was just the right amount of descriptive that I felt like I was right there with Anise. The setting, as well as her emotions, came right off the page. What the writing lacked at times were momentum and risk, some parts dragged a little and I was rarely surprised by and outcome, everything always turned out okay. But, I didn’t feel that those two things stopped me from wanting to pick the book back up and find out how it would conclude.

What I really didn’t like:

I found Anise to be very cocky and narrow-minded in the beginning and it was very off-putting.

I’m not a fan of the cover, I don’t think it captured the essence of the story, except for the blurb that’s spot on.

The ending lost a lot of momentum, and almost felt hurried like maybe the author wasn’t sure how to wrap things up. Some things were breezed over and wrapped up too easily while others needed more closure. This was the weakest part of the story in my opinion and I felt like I was left hanging. I read the eARC so I didn’t know when I was close to being finished and was very surprised when I “turned” the last page to find the story over.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Girl Out Of Water by Laura Silverman

Leave a Reply

