Non Spoiler Review of When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Publication Date: May 30th 2017
Genre: Contemporary
Source: ARC from Simon & Schuster
Link to the authorhttp://www.sandhyamenon.com/

Click Here For A Full Synopsis Or To Purchase

RATING: 4.5 Stars

BUZZ WORDS:

Laugh-Out-Loud, Comedy, Arranged Marriage, Hopeless Romantic, Web Development

THOUGHTS:

Have you ever gone to review a book that you loved and you just couldn’t get your thought down coherently? That’s me right now, and it happens a lot with books I really enjoy. My theory is that I get so sucked into the story that I stop thinking about it and critiquing it and just get lost in soaking it all up. So, know that this book was ah-may-zing but this review is not going to do it justice by any means.

Before I get into the book itself lets just all sit back and appreciate that cover! Not going to lie, it was the cover that first caught my interest and then the synopsis that made me think “yes, I have to read this”.

When Dimple Met Rishi was the perfect mix of nerdiness, romance, and laughter-inducing banter. I could not put it down, I had to a few times because of life *sigh* but I easily could have read this in a day. And I can’t believe this is Menon’s first novel,  it was that well crafted that it did not read like a debut. The pace, the flow, the character development; everything was on point. This is definitely a character driven story and I noticed that there was a lot of depth. I didn’t just learn that Dimple was, for example,  afraid of ____ because of ____. I got to experience her thoughts and feelings, both emotional and physical, and I could understand her all the better for it. Memon not only gave us incredibly realistic and beautifully flawed characters but she gives us diversity as well! And a kick ass, strong, independent female lead. (How does she do it?!) I don’t even know where to start with Dimple because I just loved her so much. She was adorably nerdy, she knew exactly what she wanted and had the drive to achieve it. Her humble confidence was so refreshing, I’ve never read a character like her before and I really want to be best friends now. Then you add Rishi into the mix and I think I have my new favorite ship ever. I have never wanted two characters to end up together more than those two. They were perfectly alike and different from one another, pushing each other out of their comfort zones while finding comfort in one another as well. #relationshipgoals.  The whole arranged marriage fiasco was so funny, actually, a lot of the writing had me laughing because the characters were so honest and witty. And while they weren’t necessarily hate-to-love they were close enough and I LIVE for that trope. Lastly, I really liked that the main characters struggled with things that they had identified as their strengths. Rather than growing by overcoming a ‘weakness’, they reflected on the way they see the world because of their strengths. I found that to be different from most contemporary plots and I liked it.

I cannot recommend this book enough and I can’t wait to read more from Sandhya Menon.

Thank you, Simon and Schuster Canada for this review opportunity.

Click Here For A Full Synopsis Or To Purchase

 

 

3 thoughts on “Non Spoiler Review of When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Leave a Reply

