April & May Reading Highlights

My April & May Reading Stats

I haven’t done a wrap up in 3 months! I’m going to try to catch you up on everything I’ve been reading without overwhelming you. What I read in March won’t be listed here because it was a part of the readathon I hosted, and you can read all about that here #ATSOReadathon Wrapup.

In April & May: I read 7 books and listened to 6 audiobooks 
That was an average of 310 pages per book and 35 pages per day

*Click a highlighted title to read my full review*

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco ★★
Started off strong by then slowed way down. Gave me Memoirs of a Geisha vibes in a bad way.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by Newt Scamander ★★★.5
A really fun read, my favorite beast is the Occamy 

The Edge of the Abyss by Emily Skrutskie ★★★.5
One of my most anticipated sequels. I loved being back with these characters but the conclusion fell a bit flat for me.

Come Away With Me by Karma Brown (Audio)  ★★★★
I really enjoyed this and I did not see that twist coming.

Angelfall by Susan Ee (Audio) ★★★
I almost DNF’d this so many times. By the end, I was glad that I finished it but I’m not sure if I will continue the series.

Definitions of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor ★★★★
I really connected with these characters and their story. 

The Seafarers Kiss by Julia Ember ★★★.5
An incredible twist on the Disney version we all know. 

Ahsoka by E K Johnston (Audio) ★★★
Borrowed this on a whim and it was a really fun to listen to, sometimes I feel like I miss things by listening but the sound effects made the story come alive!

Girl out of Water by Laura Silverman ★★★★
Excellent contemporary, add it to your summer TBR

The Midnight Star by Marie Lu (Audio) ★★★
A clever ending, but looking back at the series as a whole I’m feeling pretty meh about it.

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton (Audio) ★★
Needed an audio book for the drive and I saw this, it had caught my eye before so I thought I’d give it a chance. Never before have I read a book that I loved SO much in the first few chapters and hated so much by the last few. Probably won’t continue the series.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon ★★★★★
This book deserves all the stars! One of the best books of 2017, read my spoiler free review for more info.

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch (Audio) ★★★
I DO NOT recommend you listen to this on audio, the narrator was SO annoying. Even taking that into consideration this was a so-so experience for me. Might read the sequel but I will definitely be reading a physical copy. 

Off The Page

It’s funny, everytime a month ends I wonder where it went and yet when I try to think back to March 1st it seems so long ago. Most of you probably know I hosted a semi-successful readthon in March. I went into it without doing nearly enough planning but some people still expressed interest in participating again in the future so perhaps it wasn’t a total fail on my part. April was the first month I began using my bullet journal, which I am still using and loving! Are any of you bullet journalers? It was also my birthday in April and just generally a crazy busy month for me. May flew by too. I spent two weeks of it on vacation in Vancouver and on Vancouver Island. I ate sushi, went to museums, butterfly garden, sat on the beach and met up with so many people. I saw so many friends I hadn’t seen in awhile and even met a blogger friend in person for the first time! (Over more sushi) When I got back home I received the most amazing package from some friends I met at Yallwest last year. They went this year and snagged some epic goodies for me, honestly, this community has brought the most amazing people into my life. I am forever thankful. In other news I will be going back to school in the fall for Business Administration, it should be interesting to see how that eats up my reading and blogging time.

Books Discovered

Books Hauled: 

By Your Side by Kasie West
Bought on a whim from Chapters while I was on vacation. 

Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
Slowly collecting physical copies of this series I loved so much.

Frogkisser by Garth Nix
Signed and given to me by my amazing friend Kelly!

Added to Goodreads:

Impyrium by Henry Neff
It was recommended for fans of Harry Potter

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black
It’s high time I read a book by this author and I have heard a lot of great things about it already. 

Coming Next & Up For Review

In June I have two books for review:

Leave a Reply

