July Reading Highlights

My July Reading Stats

I read 1 book2 graphic novels and listened to 1 audiobook
Of those, 3 were fantasy and 1 was contemporary

Saga Vol 2 by Brian K Vaughan  ★★★★ 25494343
A fantastic sequel, so glad that the nanny is back! So glad I finally found a GN series I can’t wait to continue!

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (Audio) ★★★★
So here’s a little history for you guys. I read City of Bones a very long time ago, I didn’t enjoy it and I haven’t so much as looked at a Cassandra Clare book since. Something about Lady Midnight though maybe me want to give it a try. I saw it on Overdrive in audiobook format and went in with an open mind. I liked Emma alright, better than Clary, and although some of it was cheesy a lot of it had me laughing with it rather than at it. By the end, I was hooked and immediately reserved my place for Lord of Shadows. Will I read her previous work now? Probably not, but I look forward to enjoying the next books in this series.

Giant Days Vol 1 by  John Allison ★★★.5
I tried a new graphic novel! You all know Rat Queens and Lumberjanes fell flat for me but Giant Days was a big hit! Esther was my favorite ❤ I think I would give it 4 stars if I was confident that I will continue to enjoy the series. 

The Wood by Chelsea Bobulski ★★
What wasn’t a big hit last month was The Wood. It reminded me of The Edge of Everything which I really disliked earlier this year. It simply wasn’t dynamic enough to hold my interest and by the last 60 or so pages I was skimming. 

Currently Reading

In Other News

My biggest news is, I redesigned my blog! Well, I’m still working on it but I really how it’s coming along so far. I had a lot of help from the amazing Chelsea of booksforthought.ca who did the graphics for me and offered advice. I’ve wanted to do it for a while and I’ve been in a big reading and blogging slump so I decided to finally go for it. I hope that the excitement of a ‘new’ blog will get me out of my slump and so far it’s worked! New ideas are rolling in and so is the motivation to execute them.

Off the pages, my son celebrated his second birthday! We made it and I’m proud to say he still has all his appendages. LOL. Seriously though he is just an amazing two-year-old and I am so lucky to be his mama. He talks up a storm now and loves it when I read to him, he points things out and I name them so he can repeat them. He even said Harry Potter last month! I really hope his love of books remains as he grows.

I also enrolled to do some upgrading courses at my local college so that I can enroll in a diploma next fall. I feel kind of old to be going back to school but an opportunity came up that will cover the cost of my tuition and since I won’t be returning to welding, I decided this was the next step fpr my life. So please wish me luck! One thing I can look forward to is shopping for school supplies, did anyone else thinks that was the best part of back to school shopping? Who doesn’t love pens and notebooks, am I right?

Kitten update! The five kittens I was fostering (Leia, Mattias, Nina, QueenB and Iko) all went to new homes and I have five more babies! These new kittens are so cuddly and once again all orange tabbies. I have named them Tyrion, Sansa, Wolf, Rogue and James (Flooferton St James to be exact) I am in love with all of them. I don’t know how I will part with them in a few weeks, especially Tyrion.

 

Books Discovered

Books Hauled:

Ummm
Guys, I’ve just realized I didn’t acquire any books last month! I am both shocked and proud of myself.

Added to Goodreads:

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor7507944
I see this everywhere lately. First on my friend Jennifers Instagram and then on AlexaLovesBooks youtube channel. It sounds incredible and I really want to read more fantasy from other cultures. 

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy
A few of my favorite booktubers have talked about this recently and I seem to be enjoying contemporary lately. 

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
A slightly older book that has been recommended to me a few times because I love assassins and I just never remember to add it to Goodreads. 

Coming Up Next For Review

4 thoughts on “July Reading Highlights

  1. AAAAAAAAH, I’m so envious you’re reading Wonder Woman! I can’t wait for it, and also Mask of Shadows, they both sound AMAZING. Also best of luck going back to study. 😀 And I didn’t like The Mortal Instruments all that much either, I never finished the series and can’t go back to it, I just can’t connect. But since you’ve picked up Lady Midnight, I am also tempted. Maybe I will in the distant future, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think I would have if it wasnt on Overdrive as an audiobook. As a single mom I dont get a lot of time to read so Im always looking for an audiobook to listen to while driving or doing dishes. So Im always on the look for more audiobooks available to me and it was there so I gave it a go.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

